a blog about my busy little life as a mom

metamorphosis

While I was walking 10x a day to try to get labor started, I was on the search to find a caterpillar for Macy.  I wanted to catch one so we could watch it turn into a butterfly.  When labor pains started, I was out on a walk, and spotted this little guy.  I decided to scoop him up, along with some milkweedleaves, and take him home.  At home, I rinsed out an old mayo jar, cut some holes in the top, and placed him in there along with the leaves and a stick.  What, isn’t that what every laboring woman does?!?

I knew that I wouldn’t be home to feed our new friend, so I also picked some extra leaves for him to snack on.  When we arrived home from the hospital, he was still doing great.  A few days later, he started to form his chrysalis.

About a week after that he hatched out.  I figured he was going to because his cacoon changed from green to about clear.

In the morning, we set out to release him.  However, he was very hesitant to fly away.  His wings were dragging behind him on the ground, so Blake put him near one of my potted plants for some shelter.  It was a cold, damp day, so that may have had something to do with it, but he didn’t leave all day.

Finally the next morning he did fly away.  I wasn’t able to get a good picture of that, but here he is enjoying his new wings.

It was a fun learning experience for all of us 🙂

Leave a Reply

