a blog about my busy little life as a mom

never grow up

I heard this song the other day and the lyrics really stuck to me.  I love me some Taylor Swift.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f4gEM7w98wM

Your little hands wrapped around my finger
And it’s so quiet in the world tonight
Your little eyelids flutter ’cause you’re dreaming
So I tuck you in, turn on your favorite night light

To you, everything’s funny
You got nothing to regret
I’d give all I have, honey
If you could stay like that

Oh, darling, don’t you ever grow up, don’t you ever grow up
Just stay this little
Oh, darling, don’t you ever grow up, don’t you ever grow up
It could stay this simple

I won’t let nobody hurt you
Won’t let no one break your heart
No, no one will desert you
Just try to never grow up, never grow up

I can’t imagine how I’ll feel the first day one of the girls comes home from school crying because somebody was mean to her.  I wish I could shelter them from all of the bad in the world.

(For more Taylor goodness, check out this video too.  Makes me cry every time. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l4_6eQm7RTQ)

Comments on: "never grow up" (3)

  1. Just listened to it yesterday… I get tears in my eyes every time I hear it.

  2. I used this song in the video I made for Ella’s first year! GREAT song!!!

  3. I sing a special song at night to each of my kids and this one is the one I sing to Paige!!! I love this song 🙂

Leave a Reply

