a blog about my busy little life as a mom

oatmeal raisin cookies

Oatmeal Raisin Cookie
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour (I used half whole wheat flour)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar, firmly packed
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 3 cups oats
  • 1 1/2 cups raisins
  • 1 cup chocolate chips (optional)Whisk dry ingredients and set aside.  Cream wet ingredients in a mixer, until fluffy and the color lightens.  Stir the flour mixture into the creamed mixture until no flour is visible.  Stir in the oats and raisins.

Bake cookies at 350 for 11-13 minutes or until golden.  Remove from oven; let cookies sit on baking sheet for 2 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool.

The best part of making these cookies was having the help of this master baker- Kitty 🙂

Comments on: "oatmeal raisin cookies" (4)

  1. Those look delicious! I’ve been substituting half of the flour in recipes for whole wheat as well and using applesauce instead of vegetable oil. In some recipes, like zucchini bread, I can’t really tell the difference, but in others I just feel like the consistency is not the same. I actually just finished making some blueberry muffins and they are a little dry. I may need to try again and bake them for less time, although I already decreased the time from the original recipe. Have you come across any good tips for successful healthier baking? Or noticed any difference yourself?

  2. For now, the substiution I use most often is the whole wheat flour. I would like to make my recipes more healthy though. I will have to try the applesauce.
    I want to look it up online, but planned to ask you too- when you add flax seed, how do you adapt your recipe?

  3. Those are good tips for using flaxseed, thanks! I have used it in zucchini bread and a friend of mine actually gave me the recipe with it already in it, so I didn’t have to make any substitutions myself. But Mike has been adding it to pancakes on the weekends and they turn out great. I have been buying a whole grain pancake mix at whole foods and he adds flax seed, walnuts and cranberries to the mix and they taste amazing. The kids like them too!

Leave a Reply

