a blog about my busy little life as a mom

oh happy day

Today, my friend Allison and her husband Bill welcomed a healthy daughter, Piper Violet, into the world.  I am so thrilled for this awesome couple, because a little over a year ago they suffered a devastating loss- the death of their first child.  Violet was born a perfectly healthy little girl, but was diagnosed was SMA (Spinal Muscular Atrophy) at around six months of age and passed away soon after.  Allison was obviously crushed by this loss, as were many of her friends and family.  It was hard to believe that Violet was really gone and that we weren’t going to watch her grow up.  I remember feeling so sad for them and yet so grateful for what I had at the same time.  Violet’s passing still serves as a reminder to me- a reminder to hug my girls extra tight, a reminder to keep my patience, a reminder to just be thankful every day for my two little blessings.

So, welcome Piper!  I know you will bring so much joy to your wonderful parents!  And, congratulations to Allison and Bill!  I wish only good things and happiness for your family from this day forward.

To follow Allison’s blog about conceiving “cricket”, aka Piper, click here, to learn more about Violet’s story, click here, and to make a donation in Violet’s memory to SMA research, click here.

Comments on: "oh happy day" (3)

  1. (This made me sob.)

  2. I am just catching up on your blog, Rita- I read it a lot 🙂
    Thank you so much for the congratulations and for posting about SMA- it’s all about the awareness!
    I’m a little behind at announcing Piper on my own blog- but you know how the first few weeks with a newborn are 😉
    Thank you again so very much 🙂

Leave a Reply

