a blog about my busy little life as a mom

enjoy every second?

A few of my friends posted links to this article the other day and a few things in it really struck a chord with me.

I know that I definitely have difficult days at home with the girls, and it’s nice to know I’m not the only one.  I have talked about looking forward to bedtime with other moms, and we both acknowledged feeling guilty about anticipating bedtime and counting down the hours, but we still were counting down until a glass of wine could be poured, an adult television show could be turned on, or silence could resonate through the house.  Counting down the hours until bedtime isn’t something to feel bad about, especially if you are doing an exceptional job as a parent while your children are awake.  You deserve some rest, some peace and quiet, and a glass (or two) of wine!

My favorite part of the article was

But the fact remains that I will be that nostalgic lady. I just hope to be one with a clear memory. And here’s what I hope to say to the younger mama gritting her teeth in line:“It’s helluva hard, isn’t it? You’re a good mom, I can tell. And I like your kids, especially that one peeing in the corner. She’s my favorite. Carry on, warrior. Six hours till bedtime.” And hopefully, every once in a while, I’ll add — “Let me pick up that grocery bill for ya, sister. Go put those kids in the van and pull on up — I’ll have them bring your groceries out.”

When I’m at the grocery store, I often think of how helpful it would be to have someone let me in front of them in line when Avery’s crying or grab my cart after I unload my groceries into the car.  I hate walking away from my car with both kids strapped into their carseats (even if I do lock the doors when I walk away), but I’m not one to leave my cart in the parking lot either. You don’t know how difficult it is to grocery shop with two kids until you have done it yourself.  If I am ever at the store by myself, I try to offer a hand to other moms and I know that once my kids are older, I will absolutely give a smile and a helping hand to the young moms who are brave enough to conquer the grocery store with kids in tow!

Just because you have young kids, doesn’t mean that you have to enjoy every moment.  There are some moments that are definitely not enjoyable, but hopefully when it’s all said and done and your children are grown, you will remember all of the good ones and none of the bad 🙂

 

Comments on: "enjoy every second?" (4)

  1. Kitty DeRiancho said:

    Some very good thoughts….enjoy every moment , the good and the bad – they make life worth living.

  2. YESSSSSSSSSS!!!!! Right on. I totally get this!

  3. Oh Good, Im not the only mom who counts down til BEDTIIIIME (wine time) !?

  4. This is a great article- motherhood is hard, Rewarding but hard! Anyone who says it’s easy is lying!

Leave a Reply

