a blog about my busy little life as a mom

this one’s for you

Today I didn’t feel like running.  I woke up with a sore throat and stuffy nose yesterday morning, so I was contemplating a nap instead of a workout.  I ended up running four miles, and I’m glad that I did.

During the run, I repeated to myself “I run for those who can not.”  There is one person in particular that I had in mind.  Two years ago today, a beautiful little girl named Violet was born.  Sadly, she would only live for six short months.  On Wednesday, we had a playdate with Violet’s mom, Allison, and her baby sister Piper.  It was fun to meet Piper (a vision of health and absolutely adorable with all her hair and snazzy accessories), but it was absolutely wonderful to see my friend happy again.  Piper has already brought so much happiness back into Allison’s life and I think that at one point “happy” wasn’t something that she thought she would be able to feel again.

I asked Allison if there are similarities in personality with Violet and Piper, and she said that they are similar in some ways, but that Violet was a very easygoing and happy baby.  Do you think that is because she knew her time on earth was limited and that she wanted to enjoy her time here and leave her parents with some happy memories?  I think there is a lesson to be learned here.  Live in the moment and try to make the most of your time with loved ones!

So, Violet- this one’s for you baby!  Happy second birthday!

Comments on: "this one’s for you" (2)

  1. Thank you so much Rita for having us for a playdate and for running for Violet! 🙂 It’s sad to think if Violet was still with us she would not be a teetering little toddler… but I know she looks down on us and I am sure she is proud that you are running for those who can’t 🙂

  2. Very sweet Rita!

    And wow you are fast, and that’s with a cold!!! Go mama!

Leave a Reply

