a blog about my busy little life as a mom

drunken shrimp

Meredith’s neighbor made these shrimp this past summer and I have been thinking of them ever since.  Yesterday, I finally asked for the recipe and made them.  Boy, am I glad that I did.  These shrimp are so flavorful and delicious.  I promise you’ll like them!

Drunken Shrimp

  • 2 lbs raw shrimp
  • 1 bottle beer (use a dark, full flavored beer- I used Magic Hat Black Lager)
  • 1 tbsp garlic powder
  • 1 tbsp Old Bay seasoning
  • 1 tbsp red pepper flakes
  • 1 tbsp steak sauce
  • 1 bay leaf
  • cocktail sauce

Defrost shrimp.  Place beer in a medium sized pot and add spices; bring to a boil.  Add shrimp and stir.  Return to a boil.  Turn off the heat and let it sit for about 10 to 15 minutes. The longer it sits, the more flavor it will have.  I let mine marinate in the beer and spice for about an hour.  Drain the shrimp in colander and serve with cocktail sauce.Tip: do not use anything larger than extra large shrimp (I used large, but wished they were a little bigger).

That picture reminds me of a funny story- Years ago, we took our friend Stacey out to dinner with us and she ordered baked stuffed shrimp.  When it came to the table, she got the funniest look on her face, and then leaned over and whispered to me, “Rita, what is this?”.  I said, “That’s the stuffed shrimp.  Isn’t it what you ordered?”.  She then pointed at the tail of the shrimp and said she never saw shrimp like this before.  Apparently the only shrimp she had ever eaten was frozen, breaded shrimp, so she had never seen a shrimp with it’s tail on!  It was hilarious trying to explain to her that shrimp do indeed have tails.  I can only imagine what she would think of these shrimp with their tails AND legs 🙂

Comments on: "drunken shrimp" (3)

  1. Valerie said:

    Rita, I just started eating fish/shellfish recently after a 16 year hiatus of NO meat. I have discovered that I LOVE shrimp. And now I can’t wait to make this recipe!! YUM!!

    Seriously wish we lived closer together…think we could have fun with cooking and babies and everything else! Maybe you would even inspire me to spend less time in PJs!

  2. […] did make drunken shrimp and homemade raisin bread that morning,  but after that, there was a lot of vegging out on the […]

  3. […] year for Thanksgiving, I was responsible for making a pumpkin roll, coleslaw, and Drunken Shrimp.  I have to say that all my dishes came out […]

Leave a Reply

