a blog about my busy little life as a mom

it’s all relative

This afternoon, I got together with my friend (and ex-coworker) Kim.  We had a nice time catching up over beers!

(excellent quality photo of my outfit- gray jeans from the Gap and a floral print Daisy Fuentes shirt from Kohl’s)

She was saying to me that she misses having a fellow mom at work to talk to and I feel her pain.  Those without kids just can’t comprehend the life of a parent.  Obviously, having kids is a choice and is one that I would never change, but one thing is for sure- it sure does change your life!

1) Busy!

Today for me, went a little like this:

  • 7:45 Wake Up
  • 7:45- 8:00 Pump
  • 8:00 Breakfast for everyone
  • 8:30- 9:30 Clean up the house, make beds, etc.
  • 9:30 Put Kiwi to bed, get Macy ready to go outside
  • 9:30- 10:00 Play outside with Macy
  • 10:00- 10:30 Weed the flower beds and clean up the yard
  • 10:30 Kiwi wakes up, change diaper, get ready to go outside
  • 11:00- 11:30 Go for a run
  • 11:30- 12:00 Prepare lunch for everyone
  • 12:00- 12:30 Eat lunch and clean up
  • 12:30- 1:00 Shower and get ready
  • 1:00-1:15  Put the kids down for naps
  • 1:15-1:35 Drive to meet Kim, while pumping

When you can’t even drive without multi-tasking, you know that you are one busy little beaver!

2) Gross!

In your single days you may think that spiders are gross.  In your parenthood days, you won’t even bat an eye when your baby poops in your hand or your toddler pukes all over the car.

3) I’m tired!

I used to get so annoyed when people at work would tell me that they were tired.  REALLY?  Were you up three times last night with a teething baby?  No?  You stayed up too late drinking or playing video games?  Boo hoo!

4) Privacy!

When you’re single, you may get annoyed that your roommate comes in to look in the mirror while you’re in the shower.  Once you have kids, it’s pretty much guaranteed that you will never poop alone again.

 

Parenthood changes a lot of things, mostly for the better.  I guess just like many things in life, it’s all relative, so when you’re enjoying that morning coffee, don’t forget to see the other person’s point of view!

Comments on: "it’s all relative" (10)

  1. James George said:

    I don’t think empathy requires experience, then again, maybe because I don’t have kids, I just don’t get it. :-/

  2. Yes, yes, yes, and yes. haha!!

    So, do you just pump and do bottles, or do you nurse as well? (Totally nosy question.)

    Another great post!!

    • I only pump bottles now. It’s more convenient for me because I can get enough milk in three pumping sessions to feed her for the whole day!

      • Aww 🙂 I would miss that time. Oddly, my FAVORITE times of the day are the times that I get to sit down and nurse Emma. It’s a break in my day, and a break that allows me to snuggle and be close to a busy baby who doesn’t snuggle otherwise! 🙂 (That and I just don’t like pumping….I have so much milk that gets tossed, it’s kind of depressing.) Again…I know that was totally nosy of me to ask! Sorry…..I sometimes just can’t help my own nosiness!

  3. thats kind of a weird thing to say, that if you dont have kids you almost “arent allowed” to be tired. that would be like me saying “oh, if you dont get up at 330am to run 6 miles, drive 40 minutes to work, work 8.5 hours, drive home, go to the gym to lift…then you DEFINITELY cant say you’re tired.” Everyones day and circumstances are different, no?

  4. I totally get what you meant! It is so relative….not so long ago we were the ones that were tired after being up way too late and drinking a little too much. But nothing can prepare you for how tired and busy you will be when you have kids. And sometimes it is hard for people without kids to really get what you’re going through.

  5. Kitty DeRiancho said:

    wow!! That got a lot of comments!

Leave a Reply

