a blog about my busy little life as a mom

dedication

I only have 8 weeks left until my first half marathon in almost 4 years!  I am a little nervous and just starting to remember how much I hated training for the first one, so I wanted to create a training plan to keep myself motivated.  I have been running about 3 days a week, but really struggling to get long runs in.  My new plan incorporates running 4 days/week, with 1 long, 2 short, and 1 mid distance run.  I plan to turn some of the shorter runs into tempo runs and hill workouts!

Last week, I knew that Blake was busy and so in order to get my run in, I had to take the girls with me in the double jogging stroller.  Holy workout!  This two mile run required more effort than any of my previous runs did!  I was huffing and puffing at the end- and I only managed an 8:55 minute/mile pace!  Oh well, two slow miles is still better than zero!  It is definitely hard work pushing these kids around!  If any of my friends want to borrow the girls and my stroller for a serious hardcore workout, let me know!

Yesterday I was able to get in 7 miles.  I was quite proud of myself for getting out there and getting it done.  This gorgeous weather has been the best motivation!  I didn’t take my phone or watch with me, because I wanted the distance, not a time or pace, to be my challenge and it was!  I was exhausted by the end and the hills were killer!  If this run showed me anything, it is that I have a lot of training ahead of me!  I have to run almost twice this distance for the race!  Guess I better get to work!

Comments on: "dedication" (4)

  1. Awesome!!
    What half are you doing!?!

  2. Kitty DeRiancho said:

    Be careful of your shins!

Leave a Reply

