a blog about my busy little life as a mom

honey banana bread

It’s been awhile since I shared a recipe, so here is good one (adapted from pinterest) to try.  There is no sugar and no oil in this delicious banana bread!  I added flaxseed meal for some additional fiber and omega-3 healthy fats.  The girls and I really liked the flavor of this bread, and the addition of applesauce kept it really moist.

DSC_0011

Honey Banana Bread
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup sugar free applesauce
  • 3/4 cup honey
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 tbsp flaxseed meal, mixed with 3 tbsp. water
  • 3 mashed overripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup crushed walnutsDSC_0002

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Lightly grease a 9×5 loaf pan.

In a large bowl, combine flour, baking soda and salt. In a separate bowl, mix together applesauce and honey.

Place 1 tbsp. flaxseed meal in a small bowl with 3 tbsp. water.  Let sit for 2 minutes.  [Replaces one egg in the original recipe.  If you don’t have flaxseed meal or choose not to use it, just replace flaxseed meal with an egg, for a total of 2 eggs.] 

DSC_0006DSC_0005

Stir in egg, flaxseed meal mixture, and mashed bananas until well blended. Stir banana mixture into flour mixture, just enough to moisten. Pour batter into prepared loaf pan.  Sprinkle with crushed walnuts, if desired.DSC_0008

Bake in preheated oven for 60 to 65 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into center of the loaf comes out clean. Let bread cool in pan for 10 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack to cool.

DSC_0012

Comments on: "honey banana bread" (4)

  1. That looks so delicious!!!

  2. Valerie said:

    Mmmmmm I am intrigued…I will definitely be making some…should I ever have bananas long enough for them to get over-ripe.

  3. I’m happy to know this worked for you and it tasted good! I tried the same recipe (found on pinterest, but without your added extras) and it was HORRIBLE!! I think it has to do with my oven here or something (i’ve had problems beore with baking here)….it just wouldn’t cook. I do want to try this when I live somewhere normal again! Maybe when I can come and visit you 🙂

  4. Filipa said:

    I can’t wait to make this! I think I may use agave nectar instead of honey to see how it comes out. Looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

