a blog about my busy little life as a mom

cinco de mayo

Our friends, Beth and Tony, invited us over for a cinco de mayo celebration on Saturday and a good time was had by all!

macy hat

Beth outdid herself with a full spread of tacos (with chicken, beans, or pulled pork), chili dip, fried plantains, empanadas, fried rice, and fresh salsa.

photo 1 (5)

She also made some yummy beverage selections- strawberry lemonade, pina coladas, a melonball cocktail, and fuzzy navels.  Macy approved of the lemonade!

photo 2 (5)

I made a few margaritas using a recipe that I found in Food Network Magazine.  It’s blue because of the addition of Blue Curacao liqueur, an orange flavored liqueur.  They took awhile to make, because I used fresh limes to squeeze the juice, but were well worth the effort! photo 3 (4)

Macy also had the pleasure of busting open her very first pinata (with some help).  Apparently, she has no idea how to hold a bat, so a future in softball is out of the question so I think her dad needs to work on that this summer!photo 4 (5)

The adults also played some games.  I played ladderball for the first time, which I actually don’t suck at and had fun playing!  I think I need to buy this game.  I like games that I’m good at Winking smile

ladderballsource

To finish off the day, we enjoyed these fruit tacos that I made for dessert.  They were a hit with everyone, which made me happy since they were nearly impossible to make!  I promise to share the recipe soon.

DSC_0113

Hope everyone else had a nice cinco de mayo celebration too!  Thanks for having us Tony and Beth!

Comments on: "cinco de mayo" (6)

  1. Kitty DeRiancho said:

    You go to the best parties!

  2. You can make the ladderball game!

  3. Filipa said:

    I tried those cookie tacos and had such a hard time. The cookies kept breaking as I was trying to make the taco part. Tasted great though!

Leave a Reply

