a blog about my busy little life as a mom

the perfect summer day

Yesterday really was perfection.  The sun was shining, the kids were smiling, and I was feeling so lucky to be there to witness it all.

We started the morning off with a trip to Camelbeach, our local water park.  Since Avery decided to forgo her morning nap, I wasn’t sure how the trip would go, but she was pleasant, as always, and we had a great time. splashing and playing in the water!  We did have to make an early departure, but it worked out fine.  Macy was feeling extra brave and repeatedly jumped off the wall into the pool by herself.  She even dipped her face, voluntarily, into the water once!  For a kid that hates getting her hair washed, that was a big step!

After a quick lunch, it was nap time!  While the girls snoozed, I decided to take advantage of the gorgeous weather and catch some rays.  I love laying in the sun, even though I know it’s not very good for my skin, soaking in the sun’s rays is one of my favorite feelings.  I read a bit of my new book, listened to music on Pandora, and just relaxed.  Since I usually spend my “free” time in the afternoon working out, cleaning, and doing laundry, relaxing in the sun was a welcomed break.

Once the girls woke up, we played outside for awhile.  Macy’s new favorite thing to do is push Avery around in the Cozy Coupe car.  I am beyond delighted that she enjoys doing so, because it saves me the effort and backache of doing it!  Remember when I posted this about reasons to have a sibling for your child, here’s another reason to add to the list 🙂

By later in the day, I remembered that I had to pick up a prescription at CVS and I still wanted to squeeze in a run before dinner.  My husband was no where in sight, so I decided to kill two birds with one stone and run to CVS and back, just over two miles.  It was a hot run, but one that left me feeling accomplished and sweaty.

The girls and I enjoyed a simple dinner and then… more playtime!

I think what made this day so great is the little things.  The weather was perfect.. warm, but not too hot, with a nice breeze.  The girls were both in good moods… smiling, laughing, and no temper tantrums from the stubborn toddler (which are becoming more frequent it seems).  I was left feeling incredibly blessed.  When I dreamed of becoming a stay at home mom, these are the types of days that I pictured having.  The reality is that a day like this doesn’t happen often, but when it does, I think “wow, how lucky am I?”.

Comments on: "the perfect summer day" (4)

  1. One of my favorite posts yet! Its a good reminder that its the little, simple things in life that really make it so great 🙂

  2. Kitty DeRiancho said:

    That really does sound like a perfect day! I hope that you have many more in the future!!

  3. Love it!

  4. Love those days! And love that last picture!

Leave a Reply

