a blog about my busy little life as a mom

finding the motivation

I went off the deep end decided to sign up for another half marathon this fall, the Runner’s World Half in Bethlehem.  This means that it is time to start training again!  I had planned on doing some long runs this summer to stay in decent shape, but that didn’t happen and my longest run this summer was five miles. 

A few Fridays ago, Blake was out of town and I was trying to keep the girls and myself entertained, so we took a shopping trip to the Crossings.  I treated them to lunch at Friendly’s and was able to resist the buffalo chicken wrap.  This was kind of a big deal for me since that is one of my favorite meals, but I want to get on track with healthy eating and a consistent workout routine, and a deep fried chicken sandwich smothered in blue cheese dressing may sound delicious,  but it is not going to get me where I want to be.IMG_1356

I did sneak one chicken finger, but then stuck with a protein bar for the rest of my lunch.

IMG_1358

IMG_1359Another reason that I wanted to eat a light lunch was because I planned a run during naptime that afternoon.  As soon as we got home, I put the girls to bed and got changed for a run on the dreadmill treadmill.  Have you ever tried to run in a hot room by yourself in silence?  It is NOT easy.  I was also interrupted by a crying baby that needed a diaper change.  It was definitely a challenge to complete these 7 miles, but I am glad that I stuck with my plan and got it done.IMG_1361IMG_1362One thing that kept me motivated during this run was thinking of my friend, Gaylemarie.  She is currently training for a full marathon and has been working her butt off to hopefully qualify for the Boston marathon.  I think on this particular day she told me that she had to run for two hours, so I figured I could at least run for one!  Thanks for keeping me motivated GM!

Where or who do you get your inspiration from?

Comments on: "finding the motivation" (2)

  1. And YOU inspire me to one day be an awesome mommy, wife and the fittest ever after two babies, just like you!!!

  2. I’m going to remember this entry after the baby arrives…I felt so much better about myself, no matter what my size, when I was running regularly! How long after the girls were born did you wait before starting to run?

Leave a Reply

