a blog about my busy little life as a mom

It’s been way too long since I shared any recipes, so I have two good ones for you today!  I recently bought a whole chicken with all intentions of roasting it in the oven.  However, I later remembered that I had a party to attend that day and it wouldn’t work out logistically to put the bird in the oven and still be ready to eat at 5 o’clock.  So, I threw it in the crock pot and the result was nothing short of fabulous!

Crock Pot Chicken

  • 4 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp thyme
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 3-4 pound roasting chicken
  • 1 cup chopped onion

In a small bowl, combine the spices.  Remove any giblets from chicken and clean chicken.  Pat dry with paper towels.  Rub spice mixture onto the chicken.  When ready to cook, put chopped onion in bottom of crock pot.  Add chicken. No liquid is needed, the chicken will make it’s own juices.  Cook on low 4-8 hours.  I cooked my chicken for 5 hours but it was definitely done after 4 hours.

I was too busy devouring this moist, flavorful chicken that I forgot to take my own picture (the one above is from here), but I was able to reuse the chicken stock and leftover chicken to create a delicious chicken noodle soup, that I did capture a picture of.  So, we actually got two hearty meals out of this.

photo (11)

And what’s a nice meal without dessert?!  I found this recipe on Pinterest and since Twix candy bars ARE my favorite, I decided that I needed to have these.

Homemade Twix Bars

  • 1 cup salted butter, softened
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2-1/2 cups caramel, cut into small chunks
  • 3 Tbsp. heavy cream
  • 3 cups milk chocolate chips

For the crust:

Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Spray a 9×13 in pan with cooking spray, or line with parchment paper. Set aside. In a medium-sized bowl, beat together the butter, sugar, and vanilla.  Add the flour – at first the mixture may seem dry, but will come together quickly. Take the dough and press it evenly into the pan. (Lightly flouring your fingertips will help with any sticking.) Prick the crust all over with a fork – this allows steam to escape so the crust will bake evenly with fewer bubbles.

Bake until lightly golden brown on top and edges – about 30-35 minutes. Remove from the oven and immediately run a knife around the edges to loosen the crust. Set aside to cool completely.

For the caramel layer:

Melt the caramel and cream in a small saucepan over low heat. Pour the caramel over the cooled crust and set in the refrigerator for 30 minutes to firm up.

For the chocolate layer:

Melt the chocolate, slowly, in the microwave- stirring often. Pour evenly over the chilled caramel layer and spread until it covers the entire surface. Return to the refrigerator (or freezer) until the chocolate is well set.

Cut and enjoy!

The only thing I may try differently next time is dipping each piece into melted chocolate so that it really resembles a Twix bar, but otherwise, these were excellent!

image (20)PS- I can’t make any guarantees, but I am considering sharing at least one recipe every Friday from now on.  This will encourage me to try some new things and it will hopefully give you some new ideas for dinner.  Does that sound like a good idea??

Comments on: "crockpot chicken and homemade twix bars" (6)

  1. YES. It sounds like a fabulous idea. My husband should thank you- if we have barbecue chicken one more time, he may leave me. LOL.

  2. I’ll be checking every Friday. Thinking about recipes made me miss my blog a little! Kudos for keeping up with yours!!

  3. Great idea!

  4. I love that idea and will be looking forward to Fridays even more 😉

Leave a Reply

