a blog about my busy little life as a mom

Since it’s Friday, here’s a recipe for you all Smile

I’m sure most of you, especially if you are health conscious, have heard of substituting spaghetti squash for pasta.  I am one of those people that didn’t think this substitution sounded very appealing, but wanted to try it anyway.  These pictures were actually taken the second time that I made this dish, so the fact that I tried it a second time says something I guess, right?

This is what a spaghetti squash looks like, if you’re not familiar.  The outside is very hard and the inside resembles a pumpkin.

DSC_0001

I read that you can actually roast the squash whole, but I prefer to cut mine in half first (which is no easy task).  Once you get it split open, remove the seeds with a hard spoon.  Spray lightly with olive oil (I LOVE my misto sprayer) and then roast in the oven at 400 degrees for around 30-45 minutes, depending on the size of the squash.

DSC_0002

Once you remove it from the oven, scrape with a fork the squash will shred into strands that resemble pasta.

DSC_0008

Top with meatballs (turkey meatballs if you really want a healthy meal option!), some tomato sauce, and parmesan cheese.  Enjoy!DSC_0012

And now the real question- is spaghetti squash a good substitute for pasta?  Taste wise, I would say no.  It does not taste anything like my beloved angel hair pasta.  The texture is similar, but a little bit more firm.  However, health wise, I would say yes.  If you want to make positive changes in your diet, this would be a good one to make and over time it may be an acquired taste.  I think I’ll stick to pasta with my meatballs most nights though! 

Have you ever tried spaghetti squash?  What were your thoughts on it??

Comments on: "spaghetti squash instead of pasta?" (3)

  1. i definitely like the squash for health reasons! I usually boil it whole for about an hour, that seems easier than cutting it! Mine usually gets really watery though, did that happen to you?

  2. My family, excepting Sam, LOVES spaghetti squash. I roast them whole. I usually do several at a time and then freeze a bunch for easy meals. My favorite way to serve it is with a drizzle of evoo, wilted spinach, fresh garlic, and parm. 🙂
    PS We love pasta too!

Leave a Reply

