a blog about my busy little life as a mom

I don’t know if it was the mango coladas talking or if they really were delicious, but in Mexico, I became totally obsessed with chicken burgers!  As soon as I came home, I knew that I needed to recreate this sandwich.  And now you can too!

DSC_0016

Chicken Burgers

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • 2 pounds ground chicken
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup whole grain bread crumbs
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. black pepper
  • 1 tsp. rosemary
  • 1 tsp. garlic powder

Saute the onion with the garlic in a little bit of olive oil until tender. 

In a large bowl, combine the sauteed onions and garlic with all other ingredients.  Mix all together well and form into 8 patties.

Preheat a larger skillet and add a bit of olive oil to prevent sticking.  Cook burgers on each side for approximately 5 minutes.  (I used a meat thermometer to make sure that my burger was completely cooked throughout- to 165 degrees.  Don’t need any salmonella here!).  Come summertime, I will definitely be throwing these on the grill instead of cooking them on my stovetop.

Top with cheese- I used American, but be creative!  A pepper jack or colby jack would be great!

DSC_0017

I served mine on whole grain focaccia buns, with cheese, red onion, lettuce tomato, a dab of mayo, and ketchup.  They added pickles on the sandwich in Mexico, which was a nice addition.

Hope you enjoy this spin on traditional burgers as much as I do!  Grilling season is coming up, even though it doesn’t feel like it out there today!

Have a nice weekend everyone Smile

Comments on: "my new obsession- chicken burgers!" (1)

  1. Yum! I want those the next time I come down!

Leave a Reply

